Complete our online application
After receiving MC# from the FMCSA, pass on that information to your insurance agent to have proper filings made.
US DOT Number - Included in basic package
MC Number - Included in basic package
BOC-3 Form Filed - Included in basic package
UCR Registration - Included in basic package
Apportioned license plate - Not Included
IFTA License and Decal Stickers - Not Included
*GVWR of 26,000 and over
We will submit your application online to FMCSA the same day we receive it, and your MC number is issued immediately. After the mandated 10 day protest period, the FMCSA will then mail out the certificate for Operating Authority in about 21 days.
The GVWR is your Gross Vehicle Weight Rating and it is the maximum total weight of the truck or truck and trailer combined fully loaded.
The USDOT Number serves as an identifying number for officials when collecting and monitoring a company’s safety information acquired during audits, compliance reviews, interventions, crash investigations, and inspections.
A USDOT Number is required if you have:
All new entrants will be required to have a DOT Safety Audit usually within the first 3-6 months of activation, and you’ll be notified of this by U.S. mail. After being notified, you have 90 days to schedule your audit with the DOT. Usually a state police officer will conduct the audit at your place of business. Some of the important items to have on file are listed below:
Pre-employment drug test for all drivers
DOT Medical examination. A medical card will be issued and is good for 2 years
Enrollment in a drug-testing program
Daily vehicle inspections sheets
DOT Certified annual inspection of equipment
Company Drug and Alcohol Policy
Supervisor Training Program. (This is required if you have more than one driver). If you would like to take this DOT certified online training please e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org
MCS-90 proof of financial responsibility (provided by your insurance carrier)
*(If you would like assistance with your DOT Safety Audit, please e-mail S.A. Safety Services, LLC at email@example.com)
IFTA Fuel Tax Reporting is required for any vehicle crossing state lines with GVW/GVWR over 26,001 lbs. The IFTA agreement states that you pay the taxes the state charges at the pump on any mileage run in that state even if you did not purchase fuel there.
We file the BOC-3 form with the FMCSA in order to designate a process agent for you in all 50 states. A process agent is a representative upon whom court papers may be served in any proceeding brought against a motor carrier, broker, or freight forwarder.
Not until your authority becomes active. If you are stopped by a DOT officer, and your authority is not active, he can place you out of service and fine you $1,000 to $10,000. You also need insurance in place, and filings made (click here for InsureMyRig.com)
There are 4 states that have their own weight distance tax permits. They are Kentucky, New Mexico, New York, and Oregon. If you travel through any of these states you are required to either have a temporary or permanent permit. In most cases, the permanent permit will be the less expensive in the long run.
An authorized for-hire carrier is a person or company that engages in the transportation of cargo or passengers for compensation.
Common carriers provide for-hire transportation to the general public
Contract carriers provide for-hire transportation and are contracted to specific shippers
Interstate carriers carry cargo across state lines, while intrastate carriers operate within a single state.
The United Carrier Registration (UCR) Program is a federally-mandated, annual state-administered registration program. Motor carriers, motor private carriers, freight forwarders, leasing companies and brokers based in the United States, Canada, Mexico, or any other country that operate in interstate in interstate or international commerce in the United States must register under the UCR program.
The UCR Program is similar to the SSRS in that UCR is a Base-State system, under which a carrier pays UCR fees through its Base Sate on behalf of all participating states.
Entities not required to register under the UCR program include:
USDOT registrants (usually owner-operators that do not have interstate authority) under the PRISM program
Complete and file the Broker Authority Application
A property broker must have a surety bond or trust fund in effect for $10,000. The FMCSA will not issue a proper broker license until surety bond or trust fund for the full limits of liability prescribed herein is in effect. The broker license shall remain valid or effect only as long as the surety bond or trust fund remains in effect and shall ensure the financial responsibility of the broker.
Please visit fmcsa.dot.gov for complete list.